confesstions of a backwoods mom n crafter

Crafts of all kinds, crochet cooking, baking, homeschool, motherhood

The Libman freedom extra wide crochet mop pad…

on August 26, 2015

Finally back to writting patterns And I needed a new mop pad asap for my spray mop. I was not about to run out and buy a $10 pad when I had a cone of cotton yarn here. So here is the pattern super easy to make and a hell of a lot cheaper than the pads they sell for the mop. Not to mention they work so much better.

PS… The pics I post of the finished pattern are after I used it. I was so happy to have my crochet pads back that I forgot to take a picture and just started mopping. And also keep in mind I mopped the floor this morning with the pad that comes with the mop.

Ok enough of my chatter on with the pattern!!!

IMG_20150826_173831 IMG_20150826_173854

What you will need.

Cotton yarn (I used peaches cream I got from wally world)

4mm hook

snippers to cut

Chain 53

Row 1. Single crochet in the second chain from the hook and ever chain to the end. (I go in the back hump of the chain for a neater look.) Turn

Row 2. Chain 2 and Double crochet into the first stitch the chain 2 does not count as a stitch. I did not want the chains for stitches it just raises up the row for doule crochet. Double crochet in every stitch to the end. Chain 1 and turn.

repeat rows one and 2 still you have 14 rows. I ended on a double crochet row. Fasten off and weave in the ends.

Now what I did was slap the pad on the mop and attached the yarn on the 7th stitch on one of the sides. I crochet 16 tight chains and slip stitched the chain to the other side in the 7th stitch. Repeat for the other side. and you now have a mop pad that you can reuse until there is nothing left of it. And wash it as many times as you see fit.

happy hookin!!!


Leave a comment